Getting my play produced, #7: finished cover letter

The finished cover letter:

Theatre Three, Inc.
Attn: Play Submissions
2800 Routh Street, #168
Dallas, TX 75201

Hello –

I am submitting a query for my play “Lessons from Moonshine” for Theatre Three’s consideration.

“Lessons from Moonshine” is a long one-act comedy/drama running 80 minutes. The cast includes five women, ages 20s to early 60s. The play uses a unit set and simple costuming.

The play is set during Prohibition, about a small convent of nuns who keep their convent in business by running a still. Just like in the recession we’re in now, these women face hard economic times. And like many current social services, the Sisters are trying to reduce the harm caused by poisoned bootleg moonshine, with the addition moral dilemma of having to break the law to do it.

I’m sending “Lessons from Moonshine” to Theatre Three because it would do well in a city that has a substantial Catholic population. Also, it has good roles for women, so you can cast the wonderful women actors you see that you don’t always have enough roles for.

As for me, I am a playwright, actor, and director. I studied playwriting and acting at Freehold Theatre in Seattle, and writing at Richard Hugo House, also in Seattle. I’ve written plays on various subjects, frequently about loss of inheritance, property, and home.

I’m enclosing a synopsis, cast requirements, an overview of the settings, sample dialogue scenes, and a production history. I’m also enclosing an SASP, so you can conveniently let me know you received this.

You can reach me at (e-mail address, phone number). Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Louise Penberthy

What do you think?

Do you think this is what a theater needs to decide whether or not my play is right for them?


About playwrightsmuse

Get produced, get published, let your brilliance shine! Follow along as we go through a step-by-step process for getting plays produced with the least amount of heartbreak and wasted postage and printing costs.
This entry was posted in Getting my play produced -- "Lessons from Moonshine", How to find Theaters who will Love your Plays, How to write Cover Letters, Submitting to Theatre 3, Dallas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

