Getting my play produced, #14: a follow-up letter

Writing a follow-up letter

Trinity Rep in Providence, R.I., requested the full script of “Lessons from Moonshine” based on the query I sent them last July. They asked for the full script in September, and I sent it right away.

I know literary departments are swamped, and I don’t want to bother them. But I included an SASP, which after nine months I haven’t gotten back. So — I figure it’s okay to send a quick follow-up letter.

The first draft of the letter

The Mabel T. Woolley Literary Department
Trinity Repertory Company
201 Washington Street
Providence, RI 02903

Re: full script “Lessons from Moonshine” (formerly “In the Spirits of Our God”)

Hello:

Last September, you sent me a request for the full script of my play “Lessons from Moonshine” (formerly “In the Spirits of Our God”). I know literary departments are usually swamped, but since I didn’t get back the SASP I sent, I’m writing to make sure you got it.

If you didn’t get the full script, and you would still like to see it, please let me know and I will send it again. You can reach me at (e-mail address), (phone number), or at the address above.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Louise Penberthy 

What do you think?

Is the letter courteous and polite?  Does it quickly explain why I’m writing without wasting their time?

About playwrightsmuse

Get produced, get published, let your brilliance shine! Follow along as we go through a step-by-step process for getting plays produced with the least amount of heartbreak and wasted postage and printing costs.
This entry was posted in Getting my play produced -- "Lessons from Moonshine", How to find Theaters who will Love your Plays, Submitting to Trinity Rep, Providence, RI. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

