Getting my play produced, #20: checking out distilleries

A walking tour of some distilleries

After spending so much time with numbers and the budget for my last post, I decided to do something fun.

I went for a walk near where I live, and checked out two distilleries. One distillery has two locations, and the other one has one.

So, aside from having a nice walk, I found out some useful things.

Distillery #1 — restaurants along with the distillery

The two locations of the one distillery were both restaurants (one also had the distillery itself). They had lots of customers early on a Friday evening. I’ve heard that restaurants are not ideal places for readings. In any case, maybe a restaurant would rather have readings on an off night, like a Monday or Tuesday.

Distillery #2 — distillery with a tasting room

The second distillery is under construction. One set of doors were open, so I was looking in. A man came out and I struck up a conversation with him. Turned out he was the distiller. He let me come inside and gave me a short tour, and he talked to me about their plans.

He’s going to have a tasting room, which looked like it would be too small to hold many people for reading. But there is a big room for the distilling operations, and maybe a reading could be held in there.

Readings as fundraisers?

He also mentioned that it takes a lot of money to open a distillery. Which got me thinking. Maybe a reading could be a fundraiser. That might be another reason why a distillery would want to have a reading of my play.

What I learned from my walking tour

Distilleries with restaurants may not be good candidates.

Distilleries that are just starting up might be interested in fundraising events.

 

About playwrightsmuse

Get produced, get published, let your brilliance shine! Follow along as we go through a step-by-step process for getting plays produced with the least amount of heartbreak and wasted postage and printing costs.
This entry was posted in The Distillery Tour -- "Lessons from Moonshine". Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

