Getting my play produced, #21: response from Trinity Rep

Trinity Rep sent me a nice e-mail

I got a nice e-mail today from Trinity Rep, the theater I sent the follow-up letter to.

The literary manager said a bunch of nice things, lots of nice compliments, which I’m especially pleased about because they are some things I tried hard to make work well.

But she also said that the conflict wasn’t strong enough at the climax of the play, that there wasn’t enough surprise, and she didn’t feel engaged at the end.  So they’re not going to pursue the play any further, but she did say to stay in touch.

Literary managers are so busy, they rarely give feedback about a play.  So while I’m disappointed that they’re not interested, I am pleased that she cared enough to e-mail me about it.

So I’ll e-mail her to thank her for her feedback.

And next time I have something I think they’ll like, I’ll send it to them!

About playwrightsmuse

Get produced, get published, let your brilliance shine! Follow along as we go through a step-by-step process for getting plays produced with the least amount of heartbreak and wasted postage and printing costs.
This entry was posted in Getting my play produced -- "Lessons from Moonshine", How to find Theaters who will Love your Plays, Submitting to Trinity Rep, Providence, RI. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

