Getting my play produced, #27: second draft of letter to distilleries

Back to the Distillery Tour

I took some time off from planning my distillery tour. I think I was getting nervous. I’ve never done anything like this before. I’ve produced readings and shows, but never partnered with another organization that wasn’t a theater. I feel better now.

Second draft of letter to distilleries

My theater colleague and mentor Mari Geasair read over the first draft of my letter.  She made some suggestions, which I’ve incorporated.

Dear –

I have a neat community collaboration idea to help you get more customers, get publicity, and share the products and work that you are passionate about. Best of all, it is easy, fun, and low cost.

I would like to partner with you to host an evening of entertainment at your distillery. I am producing a simple production of a play of mine to tour distilleries in the Puget Sound area. It is the play, “Lessons from the Still,” is about pride in distilling and defying authorities during Prohibition. It is funny and thought-provoking, and just the kind of unusual night of entertainment that sticks in people’s minds and encourages them to talk to their friends and neighbors about their night out and your business.

I would like to bring this production to _________________________, and create a special event around it. I can even help you create flyers, get press mentions, and spread the word to keep the process simple and easy.

While I don’t know of any distilleries that have used live theater to promote and grow their business, I do know that local wineries have found it to be a tremendously successful PR and marketing tactic. And it is low cash outlay.

The performance needs space for six actors, no special lighting. The available dates are Fridays and Saturdays, February 24th and 25th, March 2nd and 3rd, and March 9th and 10th. The tour is limited to one distillery in Seattle, one in Woodinville, and one on Bainbridge Island.

The performance lasts about an hour and 15 minutes. We can start anytime between 7:00 and 8:00. You set the ticket prices, and – of course – keep all profit from liquor sales. My prices are a 60/40 split of the ticket revenue per show, with a $500 minimum.

As for me, I am a playwright and producer in Seattle. I have been writing for five years and producing for nine years.

You can reach me at…

Next Steps

  • review my list of distilleries to write to
  • send out the letters!

 

 

About playwrightsmuse

Get produced, get published, let your brilliance shine! Follow along as we go through a step-by-step process for getting plays produced with the least amount of heartbreak and wasted postage and printing costs.
This entry was posted in Getting my play produced -- "Lessons from Moonshine", The Distillery Tour -- "Lessons from Moonshine". Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

