Taking a risk, making contacts

I’m having people over tomorrow to read the latest version of my play “Transplanted in Mississippi.”

I realized I wanted to get to know more actors. So for this reading, I invited a lot of actors whom I don’t know very well. Maybe I’ve said hi to them after a show or chatted with them at some play reading. All of them work a lot in the Seattle area, so I thought, why not? The more people know about my work, the better.

The thing about working actors, though, is that they’re often… working. So most of them couldn’t come. But at least they know about me and that I’m serious about developing my work.

What’s more, this guy I’m acquainted with who’s the managing director of a theater here, read the play and said he enjoyed it! He can’t come to the reading, but now he’s read a play of mine and liked it. He even asked me what my plans for it are.

I told him that after this reading I plan to do a few more edits to the text, and then send it out.

Which is exactly what I plan to do.

 

About playwrightsmuse

Get produced, get published, let your brilliance shine! Follow along as we go through a step-by-step process for getting plays produced with the least amount of heartbreak and wasted postage and printing costs.
This entry was posted in My play "How to Kill a Cactus", Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking a risk, making contacts

  1. pearkle says:

    This interests me because I’ve been on a batch of auditions lately. Sometimes, the room full of actors is quiet, and other times, people start to take the risk of (gasp!) talking pleasantly with their competition. I think we often feel there is a dearth of resources, and that leads us to sit back and be quiet, since we have no idea what will influence the outcome — but taking risks and reaching out to others is part of a process, and we don’t know where that process will lead us, but when we take risks, we take action. Action is good.

  2. Playwright's Muse says:

    Thank you! Yes, indeed, action is good. Sometimes I worry that my plays are “good enough” to invite certain actors, but that’s BS.

    At callbacks, for example, I usually offer to read scenes with other actors. Everybody benefits.

Leave a Reply

